Log in

No account? Create an account

Jurors for the 2010 Shirley Jackson Awards

In recognition of the legacy of Shirley Jackson’s writing, and with permission of the author’s estate, the Shirley Jackson Awards have been established for outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic.   

The Shirley Jackson Awards are voted upon by a jury of professional writers, editors, critics, and academics, with input from a Board of Advisors. The awards are given for the best work published in the preceding calendar year in the following categories:  Novel, Novella, Novelette, Short Story, Single-Author Collection, and Edited Anthology.  

The jurors for the 2010 Shirley Jackson Awards are, alphabetically:

Andy Duncan, winner of the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award and two World Fantasy Awards, one of them for his debut collection, Beluthahatchie and Other Stories (Golden Gryphon Press); second collection forthcoming, The Pottawatomie Giant and Other Stories, (PS Publishing, 2011); English faculty at Frostburg State University in Maryland.

Gemma Files, winner of an International Horror Guild Best Short Fiction Award for her story "The Emperor's Old Bones"; author of two collections of short stories (Kissing Carrion and The Worm in Every Heart, both Prime Books), two chapbooks of poetry, and a novel (A Book of Tongues, ChiZine Publications).  

Helen Oyeyemi, author of The Icarus Girl and The Opposite House, which was short-listed for the 2008 Hurston/Wright Legacy Award for Fiction; winner of a 2010 Somerset Maugham award for White is for Witching, her third novel. 

Lee Thomas, the Bram Stoker Award and the Lambda Literary Award-winning author of Stained (Wildside Press), Parish Damned (Telos Publishing), and The Dust of Wonderland (Alyson Books); author of numerous short stories, including the collection In the Closet, Under the Bed (Dark Scribe Press); forthcoming titles include The Black Sun Set, Focus, Torn, and The German. 

David Wellington, author of zombie novels Monster Island, Monster Nation and Monster Planet (Thunder’s Mouth Press); and vampire novels, including Thirteen Bullets, Ninety-Nine Coffins, Vampire Zero and Twenty-Three Hours; a werewolf series, including Frostbite (Three Rivers Press) and continuing with Overwinter

The Board of Advisors for the Shirley Jackson Awards includes editor Bill Congreve; author and critic, Stefan Dziemianowicz; award-winning author and critic, Elizabeth Hand; renowned scholar and editor S.T. Joshi; author and teacher Jack M. Haringa (co-editor, with Joshi, of the critical journal Dead Reckonings); author and founder Sarah Langan; author Mike O’Driscoll; author and founder Paul Tremblay; award-winning and best-selling author Peter Straub; editor Ann VanderMeer; and award-winning and best-selling novelist Stewart O’Nan. In 2010, founders and former jurors F. Brett Cox and John Langan join this illustrious group.

Shirley Jackson (1916-1965) wrote such classic novels as The Haunting of Hill House and We Have Always Lived in the Castle, as well as one of the most famous short stories in the English language, “The Lottery.” Her work continues to be a major influence on writers of every kind of fiction, from the most traditional genre offerings to the most innovative literary work. National Book Critics Circle Award-winning novelist Jonathan Lethem has called Jackson “one of this century’s most luminous and strange American writers,” and multiple generations of authors would agree.

Laura Miller at Salon.com has a post today about Shirley Jackson (Library of America has just released "Shirley Jackson:  Novels and Stories") and includes nice things about the Shirley Jackson Awards, here.

2009 Shirley Jackson Awards -- winners

The winners for the 2009 Shirley Jackson Awards were announced this morning at Readercon 21.

You can see the winners here:  http://www.shirleyjacksonawards.org/sja_2009_winners.php

Congratulations to all of the nominees and all of the winners.  Our thanks to Nalo Hopkinson for her beautiful introduction, and for being a wonderful host; thanks to Readercon for including the Shirley Jackson Awards ceremony.

We are humbled by the high level of interest in dark fantasy, horror, and psychological suspense.  And, of course, in Shirley Jackson.  Over the past three years, writers, publishers, readers, nominees and winners, all have expressed how much they admire and love Shirley Jackson’s work.  Through this award we hope to pay a tribute to Shirley Jackson, her influence, and her legacy. 

2008 Shirley Jackson Awards Ceremony

Readercon has put up its preliminary schedule of panels and events.   The 2008 Shirley Jackson Awards ceremony is scheduled to take place at 11:00am on Sunday morning.   Please join us!

Interviews for your reading pleasure

If you haven't read them yet, check out Charles Tan's interviews with the nominees for the 2008 Shirley Jackson Awards.  http://shirleyjacksonawards.blogspot.com/ 

You want this book

The Shirley Jackson Awards will hold an online auction of a rare book to benefit the award. Peter Schneider has kindly donated a first edition of the 1899 publication of The Alleged Haunting of B----- House.   Alleged Haunting of B----- House is edited by A. Goodrich-Freer and John, Marquess of Bute. While not a copy owned by Jackson, this important book in early psychical research is purported to be the book upon which The Haunting of Hill House is based.  

The story of how Shirley Jackson was inspired to write The Haunting of Hill House is readily available in the many biographies and articles dealing with her work: While rummaging through boxes of books in a Vermont barn sale, Jackson came across a small volume that contained an account of a haunted house, as reported by a group of nineteenth-century psychic researchers.

The first edition of The Alleged Haunting of B----- House shows up only rarely on ABEBooks.com, and when it does it is almost exclusively British booksellers offering it for sale, at prices ranging from a low of $225 US to $680 US. The lower prices reflect the condition of the book which, in these cases, includes battered bindings and heavily foxed pages –- neither of which affects this volume offered for auction.

Go now. Auction ends soon!


An interesting article on Edgar Allan Poe, courtesy of the New Yorker.   I wish they had also mentioned Poe, Ellen Datlow's anothology.

2008 Shirley Jackson Awards

The nominees are up! 

The Shirley Jackson Awards will be presented on Sunday, July 12th, at Readercon 20.   Elizabeth Hand, Readercon Guest of Honor, and author of Generation Loss, which won the 2007 Shirley Jackson Award for "Best Novel" will act as host. 

Hope to see you there!

Stars & Stripes - PTSD

A husband of a friend is stationed in Korea for a year, leaving the family behind in the US.  He was recently interviewed by "Stars & Stripes".  Much of what he said got cut, but he's happy more information about PTSD is getting out there.  And I'm happy to pass it along, here.

Get your tickets!

Don't forget the last day to buy tickets for the fundraiser for The Shirley Jackson Awards is February 23, 2009.  Persons buy as many “lottery tickets” as they want in hopes of being selected the winner for any of an array of donated prizes from well-known authors, editors, artists, and agents.  The long list of really cool items can be found here: http://www.shirleyjacksonawards.org/store


“Lottery” tickets are $1 each and can be purchased from http://www.shirleyjacksonawards.org/lottery/

Persons may purchase as many tickets as desired.

Tickets are available now
through February 23rd, 2009. At midnight on February 23rd, “lottery” winners will be selected randomly for each item and announced on the website. Prizes will be mailed to the lucky winners.